Do Not Miss the Blindfolded 'Mike Tyson's Punch Out!!' Run This Afternoon on Awesome Games Done Quick 2016

We’ve already posted about this year’s Awesome Games Done Quick, but if you missed that, here’s the gist- The world’s best video game speed runners all get together twice a year for a massive event that’s streamed on Twitch. People donate money, which this time around is going to the Prevent Cancer Foundation, and when you do that you throw your money into a pool to get the speed runners to do certain things. Some are as innocuous as naming the same file to… Potentially the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever seen in my years as a gamer: Playing the NES Mike Tyson’s Punch Out!! blindfolded.

That particular run is scheduled to take place in about an hour from this posting, at 2:27 eastern time (1:27 central, 12:27 mountain, 11:27 pacific). Here’s the embedded Twitch player for the stream:

Watch live video from GamesDoneQuick on www.twitch.tv

Here’s a video from the last time they did this, the actual run starts at about ten minutes in:

Tomorrow afternoon they’re going to be showing off some classic Pokemon games, including a “glitch showcase,” which shows off just how broken those games actually were. Definitely take a look at their schedule if this kind of thing interests you. If nothing else, it’s an incredible thing to have on in the background in a small window while you’re working.